Going for Gold!

February 28, 2010 at 7:25 pm 1 comment

It’s the most important day of the last 4 years… the gold medal game in ice hockey at the Olympics! The games are on my home ice in Canada…  the contenders are Canada and USA, both countries that I have called home with much affection, but my heart is with Canada on this one. Being in the UK, I had to wait until 8:15pm for the game to start, so I had to distract myself somehow…

… so it’s off to play tourist in my own backyard again. I guarantee that anyone who’s adventurous enough to come visit me in Wales will spend at least a few hours in the nearby town of Conwy (pronounced Conway, but Wales seems to be unable to afford vowels), so I  felt it was time to check out the area for myself and see what exactly Conwy has to offer. I checked my very detailed topo map, made a plan, and off I went.

First stop: McDonalds. “Two double cheeseburgers please.”

Second stop: an access point to the North Wales Path on Conwy Mountain. As with previous hikes in North Wales, I wandered up along paths covered in sheep droppings and was rewarded with views of (yet again) the Great Orme to the north east and Snowdonia to the south west. The hike to the summit was a bit longer than my previous Welsh treks, still relatively easy, but given the wind and cool temperatures, challenging enough to feel I might have burned off most of the calories I was about to consume. Maybe.

This hike was all about clearing my head in anticipation of the big game, so it’s not the hike that I specifically remember, but rather the images that I captured on my camera that show me where I was and what I was doing… Like this shot on the top of Conwy Mountain with Snowdonia in the background:

Smowdonia from Conwy Mountain

From there, I wandered a bit farther along the trail (trail, sheep path, whatever) to the summit of Penmaen-bach, which had a strikingly similar view of Snodonia, not surprising considering the relative proximity of the two summits versus the relative distance of Snodonia:

Snowdonia from Penmaen-bach

Following the hike, I wandered around the town of Conwy for a bit, taking in the 1.2km walk along the castle walls that surround the old town and took this shot of the Conwy Mountain were I had dined mere hours earlier:

Conwy Mountain from the Conwy Castle wall

Finally, I went home, raided the beer fridge (aka brewery) and watched Canada win the only medal in the Olympics that really mattered… GOLD FOR CANADA IN HOCKEY!!!!

btw… who’s keeping track of statistics around here?

Krusty Bunz

Entry filed under: International Summits.

Mt Blackmore, Gallatin County, Montana Building a Better Summit Cheeseburger

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. summitcheese  |  March 1, 2010 at 8:45 am

    I thought you were a curling fan.

    sirloinofbeef

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Mission

To encourage, enable, and document the consumption of a Cheeseburger on every summit on earth.

Photos

Salvation Knoll Burgers

Salvation Knoll Sign

More Photos
February 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Blog Stats

  • 80,626 hits

