A White Mountain 6-pack, Sept 1-2, 2009

September 11, 2009 at 12:41 pm 4 comments

Within the next couple of months, I’ll be packing up and moving to Wales, but before I go, there are a few peaks in New England I’d like to bag, and generally speaking I’d like to spend more time in the White Mountains that I have recently. To that end, I set up an overnight back-country camping trip and plotted a route to bag 6 peaks, most of which would be challenging to bag on a day hike. Unfortunately my hiking companion has an aversion to summit cheeseburgers, so he would mainly play the roll of photographer… when he wasn’t too far behind me on trail!

The path to the first summit, Bondcliff (4265′), included 5 miles of relatively flat hiking into the Pemigewasset Wilderness before starting the 4.4 miles ascent up the Bondcliff Trail to the summit. The 6 homemade cheeseburgers were stacked up, and the first one was quickly consumed, satisfying the hunger built up after 9.4 miles of hiking before reaching the first summit.

Bondcliff

Bondcliff

With the next summit, Mt. Bond, in sight at 4698′ and just 1.2 miles away, I went off skipping up the trail in eager anticipation of the next course of my dinner while my friend lay down in pain and exhaustion to nap on the first summit. I enjoyed a spectacular view of the surrounding mountains including the Presidential Range while consuming my second cheeseburger of the trip.

Mt. Bond

Mt. Bond

From Bond, I continued along the trail with a spring in my step to the Guyot Campsite and waited for my friend to crawl into camp, pick a site and collapse into a whimpering heap of flesh. I thought back to my own first experience carrying a full pack into the wilderness and I could feel his pain. But I left him and my pack there and skipped back up the trail to the spur trail that I had passed en-route to the campsite and watched the sun set from the West Bond summit at 4540′ (not on the summits page, but listed in the AMC Guide) as I consumed my third cheeseburger of the day.

West Bond

West Bond

Day two!

Another gorgeous day in the White Mountains… but due to user error, the battery on my phone (read: camera) is now dead, so I now have to actually hike with my friend in order to get my summit shots since I am now dependent on his camera! (After a week+ of waiting, I’m submitting this post now and will insert the remaining photos if I ever get them!)

The first summit of the day is a mere 0.9 miles from out campsite to Mt. Guyot (4580′). A false summit just prior to the real summit provided much better views, but we were not fooled, and proceeded to the real summit where I enjoyed the day’s first cheeseburger.

Guyot

Turning northwest, we proceeded two miles to the summit of South Twin Mtn, the highest point on our hike at 4902′ for my second cheeseburger of the day. It’s been a short day so far, but my buddy is still suffering from the previous day, so we linger around the summit for a while and I put on my marketing hat to sell the summit cheeseburger mission to other sociable hikers.

South Twin

Eventually we start our long descent off the mountains. The trail takes us 1100′ down to the Galehead Hut where we refill our water continue on. At the junction for Galehead Mtn. I grab the camera, drop my pack, and ascent the short spur path to the summit (4024′) while my friend continues downhill. The third cheeseburger of the day and the sixth and final of the trip is devoured on the tree covered summit and I quickly proceed back down to catch up with my friend.

Galehead

— Krusty Bunz

Entry filed under: New Hampshire Summits.

The Pemi and Beyond Pitcher Moutain – September 5, 2009

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. groovydad22  |  September 11, 2009 at 4:57 pm

    Great Post! Nice hike. A new high mark I believe….6 cheeseburgers in 24 hours! . Owls head next. I will set a date. Cheers.

    Reply
  • 2. Flame Broiled  |  September 11, 2009 at 7:39 pm

    Wow, Krusty Bunz, glad you stole my hike from me! Nice too see a post from you, and hope the weather was as good for you up there as it was for me.
    Flame Broiled

    Reply
  • 3. krustybunz  |  September 11, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    I saw clouds in your photos… not many mind you, but more than I had on my hike. However, it’s fair to say that the last few weeks have been pretty awesome weather!

    Are you up for a ridiculous attempt on Owl’s Head with Groovy Dad and myself? I do mean ridiculous!!

    Reply
  • 4. Flame Broiled  |  September 13, 2009 at 6:32 am

    Um, of course I am! Depends on when you want to do it though. I’m back in Medford for school, and have rowing lots of weekends, though I can probably find a free Saturday in Sept or the beginning of Oct. I’ve never met Groovy Dad, despite his living 30 min from my real home.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Mission

To encourage, enable, and document the consumption of a Cheeseburger on every summit on earth.

Photos

Salvation Knoll Burgers

Salvation Knoll Sign

More Photos
September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 80,624 hits

