A Taste of Cheese and Beef on Mount Gower in San Diego County – August 17, 2009

August 24, 2009 at 7:58 am 5 comments

I woke up at 5:15AM for my early morning workout group. We did some upper body routines and by 7AM, I was driving from Del Mar to Ramona in San Diego County. On the way, I stopped by a Jack in the Box and bought a tasty cheeseburger. Ignoring the wonderful smell from the bag, I drove to the trailhead. I was the only car there.

The fog still lay low in the valleys

I got packed up with my hip belt and started at about 8:15, walking the long trail to the top. I went north along one ridge, crossed over a small (now dry) seasonal stream and hiked up to another ridge. This one went south. Seeing Mount Gower behind me, I started to see a trend. A couple of miles later, I dropped into a steep canyon and began climbing the other side and started heading north. I started seeing young horned lizards scurrying off the trail.

Young Horned Lizard

Thus started the traverse of yet another ridge. This one had humps along it, so there seemed to be as much downhill as uphill. After a couple of more miles and a hefty elevation gain, I sank into a shallow meadow, where I imagine there would be a small creek running in the spring. I topped one more ridge and sank down into another valley and encountered a Hello Kitty balloon, snagged on some sage brush.

Hello, Kitty

I grabbed the balloon and carried it through several miles of bushwhacking, all the way to the summit of Mount Gower, where it kept me company while I ate my cheeseburger.

I then popped the balloon and placed it in my pack, so I could dispose of it properly. Hello Kitty, like the cheeseburger, was fun while it lasted.

Tasty snack, but what about the salt content?

I ran out of water on the way down and couldn’t help wondering if the cheeseburger was in a large part responsible for my dehydration. I stole some water from a garden hose and hiked the whole way back, which felt like it was just as much uphill as the way to the summit.

View from the top

Oh, cheeseburger, do you intentionally sap my strength? I cannot know until I eat another one on top of a summit.

Derek
100peaks.com

Entry filed under: California Summits. Tags: , , , , , .

A Woodstock, VT Two-fer – Mt. Peg (1,076 ft) and Mt. Tom (1,250 ft) – July 26th Adirondack Two-fer – Wadsworth and Black Bear Mountains

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sirloinofbeef  |  August 24, 2009 at 8:35 am

    Talking to cheeseburgers? I guess it’s only really bad when they start talking to you.

    Welcome to the effort, Derek. Great post, great photos!

    sirloinofbeef

    Reply
  • 2. wimpy  |  August 24, 2009 at 1:19 pm

    Hey Derek,

    Great post and photos. Looking forward to more.

    Cheers,

    Wimpy

    Reply
  • […] issues, the cheeseburger proved to be worlds better than the forgettable cheeseburger I had on my perilous trip to Mount Gower (See earlier post.) I don’t even remember where I got the other burger. But this one was […]

    Reply
  • […] The inside rear of the back has netting, which cools down the hottest point of contact, the small of my back. The pocket is large enough for plenty of snacks for a 5-6 mile hike, and probably longer. The only issue with longer hikes is the possibility of running out of water, which I did on one occasion. […]

    Reply
  • 5. Mountainsmith Ultra Lumbar Pack - Gear Review | 100 Peaks  |  January 1, 2013 at 8:51 pm

    […] The inside rear of the back has netting for ventilation, which cools down the hottest point of contact, the small of my back. The main pocket chamber is large enough for plenty of snacks for a 5-6 mile hike, and probably longer. The only issue with longer hikes is the possibility of running out of water, which I did on one occasion. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Mission

To encourage, enable, and document the consumption of a Cheeseburger on every summit on earth.
August 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 80,816 hits

