Warm up on Mt Morgan and Percival, New Hampshire @ 2220ft. 7/22/09

August 19, 2009 at 2:41 pm Leave a comment

Time to get the boots broken in and the body ready for some hiking in the west.  I had a 3 day Meeting up at Squam lakes and I knew I would be sitting around a lot.  So,  I looked around for good hike I might enjoy.  Mt Morgan and Mt Percival loop seemed to fit the bill.  A quick stop at the Burger King just before Holderness NH fortified my pack with a delicious cheeseburger.   Yes,  just one cheesburger, as these days there is a lot of Groovy Dad to love.    I headed up towards Mt Morgan first.   At  ~ 1.6 miles up the trail, just below the summit, is a nice set of cliffs.  I could choose to climb some sturdy ladders bolted into the side of the cliff, or free climb up it.   I chose to free climb as the holds were real jugs.

  Anyone that has witnessed my rock climbing ability would not be surprised by my choice….it was more like bouldering.   I sat down on the summit clearing and enjoyed my Cheese burger.  Then off I set toward Mt Percival.  The view from here was just as pleasant.  A quick hike back to the car to round off a nice 5 mile hike in just under 2 hours.

Entry filed under: New Hampshire Summits.

High Marking on Mt. Sneffles, 14,150ft. August 2nd, 2009 Cannon Mountain, White Mountains, NH – elevation 4180 ft. all by tram. (July 11th)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Mission

To encourage, enable, and document the consumption of a Cheeseburger on every summit on earth.
August 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 81,119 hits

