Timm’s Hill, Wisconsin … The state’s highest peak just happened to be along my route

August 15, 2009 at 10:51 pm 3 comments

My road trip home continues… from Nebraska’s lowest summit, Denise and I continued on to Iowa and spent an entertaining evening with a couple of old friends from Boston. The next day I dropped Denise off at her current abode in Minneapolis and pointed myself in the direction of Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan. While crusing along US Rte 8 in Wisconsin, I noticed that Timm’s Hill, Wisconsin’s highest point, was just a few miles away from my intended route, so I changed course slightly and crossed my fingers that I would come across a cheeseburger en-route to this landmark.

It was getting late in the day, and I was unsure what would be required of me to make it to the peak. Fortunately, I found a tavern in the town Ogema where I ordered a cheeseburger to go and a Coors Light while I waited. (I must say that I normally would order something a bit more flavorful than Coors Light, but in this particular tavern, my survival instincts kicked in and I felt that Coors Light was a good way to remain inconspicuous… although my lack of motorcycle leathers was making that pretty close to impossible.)

Cheeseburger in hand and back on the road, I soon found signs pointing me to a county park, and felt a bit relieved that I wouldn’t need to be trespassing on private property in a part of the state where I assume any season is hunting season. Still, it was late, and the next sign I saw at the park entrance said that the park closed at dusk, which it basically was, but alas the gate was open, so in I went.

IMG_1251IMG_1253

At the parkinglot, I registered my cheeseburger and was happy to learn that I only had a 300 yard hike to the observation tower at the top of the hill.

IMG_1254IMG_1260

At the top of the hill is an observation tower, so I decided to ascend the tower and enjoy my dinner while taking in the view over Wisconsin in the dim light of a post-sunset cloudy evening. For the second time in as many days, my cheeseburger left me pining for the wonderful days of cold Billy Burgers in Wyoming.

IMG_1256IMG_1257IMG_1259

— Krusty Bunz

Entry filed under: Wisconsin Summits.

The low point(s) of Nebraska It’s Snowing in August? Let’s Climb Sugarloaf!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sirloinofbeef  |  August 16, 2009 at 6:40 am

    Try to remember…those cold Billy’s burgers weren’t that great. They were cold, for god’s sake! Maybe you need higher peaks. Burgers taste better at higher elevations.

    Reply
  • 2. samh  |  August 16, 2009 at 7:41 pm

    I absolutely LOVE the amount of effort that goes into bagging the Midwest summits!

    Reply
  • 3. krustybunz  |  August 17, 2009 at 9:04 pm

    SirLoinOfBeef… I made no mention of my opinion of Billy’s Burgers, nor do I necessarily disagree with yours. Based on those two points, you can perhaps understand exactly how bad these cheeseburgers are that I’ve been suffering through in order to support the mission!

    Krusty Bunz

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Mission

To encourage, enable, and document the consumption of a Cheeseburger on every summit on earth.
August 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 80,825 hits

