Mt. Ascutney – All 3 Peaks

July 8, 2009 at 6:59 am Leave a comment

All of this rain has had me chomping at the bit to hit the trails again, but, because of the weather, I decided to stick close to home for once. I headed across the river to Vermont, to hike the mountain that I look at from my front lawn every day. I started off on the Windsor trail, the shortest (and presumably steepest) of the four that ascend and do not involve auto roads. The Ascutney map system and trails do leave something to be desired, but, even hitting all three peaks (North with its radio towers, West with its hanglider launch sites, and South, with the VPTV tower) I managed not to get too lost. One has to know that the south peak is there though, as it is unmarked on the maps, except for one found online. I do not think various “authorized personnel” were thrilled at me going up there, though I was not stopped. The way was wet, slippery, and the top was misty, though the launch sites on the west peak did provide a nice cheeseburger site and the mist cleared a little and provided views to the Upper Valley and beyond. My three Ian’s Organic Mini Cheeseburgers (take that, Whitecastle fans) went down well, and I even had a couple of companions for my last two. On the west peak I encountered another hiker who had taken the Weathersfield trail, and who appeared rather entertained by the idea of eating cheeseburgers while hiking. My last burger found my accompanied by two anxious jackrabbits who darted in and out of the woods by the access road to the VPTV tower.

FlameBroiled

Entry filed under: Vermont Summits.

Vaaldersberg – The Roof of the Netherlands Mount Cardwell – Uintah Mountains, Utah

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Mission

To encourage, enable, and document the consumption of a Cheeseburger on every summit on earth.
July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 80,927 hits

