Moon Rock in Alabama

June 16, 2009 at 3:23 pm 1 comment

June 6, 2009; Moon Rock

I must admit, when I saw the name Moon Rock on the map, I was intrigued. I was planning a morning of kayaking on Logan Martin lake and thought I would try for a cheeseburger summit opportunity also. At 879 feet, Moon Rock is the 17th highest named point in Saint Clair County in Alabama. It is practically right next to US Highway 231 and the satellite views showed a pull-off nearby. When I finished my kayaking, I dropped by McDonalds for a couple of their small cheeseburgers and made the pull-off just after the noon hour. The area is next to a community accessible hunting area and appears to have been logged in the last few years. A bit of bushwhacking, including climbing over several downed trees, and rock hopping soon had me at the “top”. Fire ants and lizards appear to call this area home; I was wary of possible snake encounters, but had none. Moon Rock is the highest boulder in a chain of exposed sandstone along the ridgeline here. I suppose its weathered surface could be compared to the surface of the moon, but it reminded me more of my mental picture of the back of a Tyrannosaurus Rex. After downing my cheeseburger and snapping a few pictures, I retraced my steps as was on my way again. Not a particularly challenging choice, but one more of Alabama’s named points is now on the cheeseburger summit list, and I had fun.

 

Photos:

David’s partially consumed cheeseburger and the view from Moon Rock
David’s partially consumed cheeseburger and the view from Moon Rock

A shot of Moon Rock
A shot of Moon Rock

The ridgeline
The ridgeline

 

 

http://kd4adc.us/smtchz/1041.htm

Entry filed under: Alabama Summits.

Adirondack Two-fer Highest Summit for a Cheeseburger in Georgia

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. wimpy  |  June 16, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    Looked like a beautiful day for a hike and a cheeseburger

    Cheers,

    Wimpy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Mission

To encourage, enable, and document the consumption of a Cheeseburger on every summit on earth.
June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blog Stats

  • 81,226 hits

