Give me Liberty or give me Death … by Cheeseburger

September 23, 2008 at 10:39 am 2 comments

9/21/08 … the last day of summer. It brings a tear to my eye… no wait, that was the hot wings I had after the hike. Anyway, there’s so much useless stuff to mention from this hike that I don’t know where to begin. Here’s a quick rundown of the facts:

The Hikers: Krusty Bunz, Just Mike from Arlington MA (a different just Mike from previous hikes), and Just Denise from Medford MA.

The Summits: Mt. Flume (4328′) and Mt. Liberty (4459′)

The Trail: up the Flume Slide Trail, along the Franconia Ridge Trail, and down the Liberty Spring Trail (part of the Appalachian Trail) … about 8.5 miles

The Cheeseburgers: expecting a much larger group of hikers, a dozen chili, garlic & black pepper microburgers, topped with 75% reduced fat cheddar were prepared. Six were officially consumed and I scarfed down the rest after offering them to everyone else I met on the 2nd summit.

The Flume Slide Trail was certainly one highlight of this hike. According to the guide book: “It is not recommended for descent, and its use is discouraged in wet weather”… spot on in my mind! It was a good day in terms of weather, still I was surprised to see people coming down the trail with full packs, particularly after we had just finished scrambling up the ledges that make it dangerous to descend… I might have scared at least one young girl hiking with her dad when I said something to another hiker along the lines of “you can use your external frame pack as a stretcher” … yeah, I regretted that almost right away… not nice, but accurate none the less.

With some clouds lingering about, the views weren’t great, but definitely better than the northern part of the ridge where Galehead Mtn is. Below is the view of Mt. Liberty from Mt. Flume.

Denise is all over the summit cheeseburger mission… just need to come up with a trail name for her on her next hike. Mike is questionable. He wasn’t into it before the hike, but seemed into it at the summit. He pleaded for a shorter hike next time, so we’ll have to see if there really is a next time.

KB

Entry filed under: New Hampshire Summits.

Cathedral Peak Appetizer – Quealy Peak A Message from Electric Peak, MT

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sirloinofbeef  |  September 23, 2008 at 11:57 am

    Welcome, Denise, Mike – sounds like a great hike. Hope to see you posting for other hikes soon.

    Hey KB, I’m counting that you ate 8 cheeseburgers on this hike. Sounds about right.

    sirloinofbeef

    Reply
  • 2. Flame Broiled  |  September 24, 2008 at 9:03 am

    Hi Krusty Bunz.
    I agree that we should start carpooling, though as October approaches, so does my racing season.
    Also, let us not mock the pitiful hight of my first summit. You must remember I spend most of my time on the Mighty Malden River. And I do recall your challenge: I will indeed be doing “University Hill” (the top of my campus) and Powderhouse soon. Let me know when you’re planning on heading up north again.
    Flame Broiled

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Mission

To encourage, enable, and document the consumption of a Cheeseburger on every summit on earth.
September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blog Stats

  • 80,825 hits

