Tahawus aka Cloud-Splitter bka Mount Marcy

September 1, 2008 at 9:38 am 1 comment

Our family’s summer vacation in New York State provided an opportunity to pursue new Cheeseburger summits. We started the vacation in New York City – taking in the American Museum of Natural History, the MOMA, a showing of the Lion King, and a trip up the Empire State Building (no cheeseburger). After a great visit to the city we moved north to the Adirondacks. We stayed at the Barkeater Inn (wonderful time; great horseback riding) and from there could see numerous peaks of the Great Range. I settled on Mount Marcy as a target since it is the New York State Highpoint.

In preparation, I stopped at the Baxter Mountain Tavern for their Baxter Mountain burger – 8 oz. of meat-lover’s paradise. The following morning I arose in the dark (5 am) for an alpine start. I had planned to start at the Adirondack Loj, but the $9 day use fee was a bit steep so I headed to the South Meadow trailhead and began the hike there. As I hiked the old jeep trail to Marcy Dam I felt I was being watched. I came upon a large beaver dam – and froze!

Home of the Killer Mountain Beaver

Could this be the lair of a Killer Mountain Beaver? I hiked warily past the foggy pond without incident and only later did it occur to me that in addition to not looking like a beaver, the Killer Mountain Beaver does not exhibit beaver-like behaviors. So the dam could not be that of a Killer Mountain Beaver.

After 2.5 miles, I arrived at Marcy Dam and the sun had begun to rise. This also coincided with the appearance of large, wet, slippery rocks in trail. This section of rocky trail only lasted 5.5 more miles – to the summit of Marcy. After slogging 4-5 miles in the mire I could see fog where I thought the summit might be. The wind was howling and it was freezing cold. Thankfully I was wearing a damp cotton t-shirt. The last mile or so of the hike to the summit was beautiful. Lots of bare granite with small alpine plants clinging to the cracks in the rock. Due to my superb hiking waking skills, I was the first person on the summit for the day and had it all for myself. The views were typical for an Adirondack peak; obliterated by fog. I pulled out the Baxter Mountain Burger to make the ascent official.

Summit Shot

The last ounce or so of burger was tough to down at 9 am but after finishing the burger I was sufficiently fortified for the descent. On the way down I passed dozens of hikers going up Marcy, so it would be crowded on the summit later that day. I hurried the rest of the way to make it down in time for lunch – a Cheeseburger on Owl Head’s Peak (post coming soon).

Mt. Marcy, NY – sirloinofbeef

Entry filed under: New York Summits.

Hancock and South Hancock – August 31, 2008 – Flame Broiled Lookout: Cheesy Biker Gang gets Pisgah!

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Mission

To encourage, enable, and document the consumption of a Cheeseburger on every summit on earth.
September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blog Stats

  • 81,226 hits

