Castle Hill, RI – Flame Broiled!

August 29, 2008 at 5:50 am 3 comments

Hello, my name is Meredith, and, last week while hiking the Franconia Ridge, I encountered “Krusty Buns” Craig. Upon asking what he was doing he proceeded to introduce me to the whole idea of Summit Cheeseburger. While my hiking window of opportunity for the summer has essentially closed, on a trip to the beach with my father, I was able to make the less than difficult trek up Castle Hill in Newport, RI (which I believe would be the first RI peak), Junior Cheeseburger from Newport Creamery in hand. I have attached two photos.

It was less of a hike and more of a peaceful drive to the Inn’s parking lot, and a gentle stroll to the high point of the land, where the gentle sea breeze and passing sailboats made cheeseburger consuming very pleasant as guests downed their Bloody Mary’s not far from where I stood.

Castle Hill Money Shot

So, in short, I would be interested in joining the Summit Cheeseburger team, as I do hike a lot over the summer (I was disheartened to see that I had climbed upwards of fifteen listed summits, sans burger, this summer from the list, only two of which had been completed). Also, with my background as a firefighter (specializing in wildlands, but I’ll do anything) I was wondering if the handle Flame Broiled was available.

Thank you,

Meredith

Entry filed under: Rhode Island Summits.

Moose Mountain Bagged Summit Cheeseburgers by State

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Krusty Bunz  |  August 29, 2008 at 10:39 am

    Whoo Hoo!!!

    Recruiting mission successful!!

    First Rhode Island summit!!

    Whoo Hoo!!!

    Question… is Castle Hill, at 23′, the lowest summit cheeseburger thus far? I just checked the list of Rhode Island summits and there’s one called High Point with an elevation of…. NEGATIVE 10 FEET! … best to wait for low tide for that one, lest your buns get soggy…

    Reply
  • […] From summit #2, it was a mere 0.9 miles to the high point of the hike, Mt. Lafayette (5260′) for the third and final cheeseburger of the loop… however Paris Stilton was not quite up for the gastronomical feat and declined her third cheeseburger (I just finished it off now as I’ve been typing this!), so she only gets credit for two today. We also got to watch a glider soaring below us through Franconia Notch. After taking my official photo for the summit, I then had to explain what I was doing to a curious on-looker, so I took the opportunity to do a little marketing… hopefully we’ll hear from Meredith in the near future. […]

    Reply
  • 3. sirloinofbeef  |  August 29, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    Welcome Flame Broiled. Your record of lowest summit should stand until someone ventures to Death Valley.

    Rhode Island makes it 16 states so far.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Mission

To encourage, enable, and document the consumption of a Cheeseburger on every summit on earth.
August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 81,119 hits

