Mt. Agamenticus, ME (8/10/2008)

August 23, 2008 at 8:47 am 1 comment

The final day of my Maine vacation … 5 days of hiking, mountain biking and motorcycling throughout the state. The last stop was Mt. Agamenticus for some mountain biking, but because my friend chose the destination and led me to the trails, I didn’t know the opportunity I was being presented with until I arrived there, so I was woefully underprepared.

The park is the site of a former beginner ski hill and now contains a series of hiking, mountain biking and ATV trails, including trails to the summit. After 2 hours of mountain biking with my friend, we ended the ride with a summit attempt on the mountain bikes, and after a week of much rain, it actually turned out to be a nice day to take our bikes for a walk! From the summit, I could see the Presidential Range of the White Mountains off in the distance, and I felt the pang of hunger in my stomach, but I had nothing to cure that.

We cruised down the auto road back to our cars and loaded up our bikes. I then proceeded to unload my motorcycle from the trailer I’d been towing for 5 days and enjoyed a 35 mile winding ride through south Maine in search of a cheeseburger, and a 20 mile ride straight back after finding one. I zipped up the summit road on my motorcycle and enjoyed an almost-still-luke-warm cheeseburger from the Pilot’s Choice House of Pizza in Sandford ME at the summit of Mt. Aagmenticus (686′) in York ME. It was definitely a bonus cheeseburger for this vacation, requiring much less effort than my Katahdin summit cheeseburger two days earlier, and with much better weather at the summit! (Although by the time I got back, the clouds had moved in again and the views of distant mountains were gone… so I took a picture of the summit lodge.)

Krusty Bunz

Entry filed under: Maine Summits.

Mt. Katahdin (Baxter Peak), ME (08/08/08) alt.cheeseburger.transportation – part 2 – Mt. Wachusett, MA (08/13/08)

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Mission

To encourage, enable, and document the consumption of a Cheeseburger on every summit on earth.

Photos

Salvation Knoll Burgers

Salvation Knoll Sign

More Photos
August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 80,636 hits

