alt.cheeseburger.transportation – part 2 – Mt. Wachusett, MA (08/13/08)

August 23, 2008 at 9:27 am 2 comments

This summit cheeseburger has been in the works for a while now, but has been foiled on past attempts due to snow on the road and early spring closing hours of the state park.

Mt. Wachusett (1991′) is home to hiking trails, downhill ski slopes, and an auto road to the summit. I hiked and skied the mountain long before I ever heard of summit cheeseburgers, and since it is located in a nice rural area where I often go motorcycling, I have been plotting to make this my first motorcycle-propelled summit cheeseburger. But… I accomplished that 3 days earlier at Mt. Agamenticus, so it will instead be the first summit cheeseburger of any kind for my friend Mike from Shirley Mass. He didn’t realize he was participating in my plan until I pulled a second cheeseburger from my saddle bag and handed it to him. For some reason he wasn’t as excited as I thought he’d be, so we’ll see if he comes along for any more summit cheeseburgers before I put any effort into finding a good trail name for him.

From the summit of Mt. Wachusett, you get treated to nice views of Boston to the east, Mt. Monadnock and other future cheeseburger summits to the west and north, and plenty of communication and weather station equipment right there on the summit with you.

I have to admit that after a few big hikes last week, there was something slightly unsatisfying about this summit. No, wait… I think that was because the cheeseburger came from Burger King. Riding the bike is always satisfying!

Krusty Bunz and Mike

Entry filed under: Massachusetts Summits.

Mt. Agamenticus, ME (8/10/2008) The Sun Shines in New Hampshire

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Big Mike aka Groovy Dad  |  August 23, 2008 at 7:55 pm

    Alright,

    It is time we meet. Not only do you enjoy walking in the woods and eating beef…but you also ride a motorcycle. I ride a kawasaki vulcan 1600cc. Where shall we meet and what summit shall we bag? I suggest sandwhich Mt in NH.

    Cheers,

    Grovey Dad.

    Reply
  • […] then… Groovy Dad spotted my tale of the arduous ascent of Mt. Wachusett and became even more determined: not only was there an opportunity here for fellow hikers to unite, […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Mission

To encourage, enable, and document the consumption of a Cheeseburger on every summit on earth.
August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 80,825 hits

