Goat Fell, Isle of Arran, Scotland – 5/26/08

June 13, 2008 at 2:26 pm Leave a comment

For my father’s 65th birthday, I took him to Scotland so that he could take me on a trip down memory lane. It was our first time traveling together on vacation and I’m proud to say we got along very well the entire trip. Dad surprised me when we were discussing our itinerary by suggesting that we go for a hike one day. He’s never been a hiker as far as I’ve known, but perhaps this was one way he figured we could bond… doing something he knows I enjoy while in a place he clearly enjoys.

The Isle of Arran is “Scotland in miniature” … so they say… “they” being my Dad and Uncle Robert, and at least one web site. So we decided to hike Goat Fell, the highest point on Arran at 874m (2867 ft), and we hiked to it right from the ferry dock (with a stop along the way at Bilslands for lunch and a cheeseburger to go) so our muscles got to enjoy ever foot of that elevation! This is Goat Fell from the ferry:

Hard to believe it’s Scotland with weather like that!

The hike was about 2 miles from the ferry to the trailhead, and 3.5 miles up the trail to the summit. We had plenty of stops along the way to enjoy the scenery …

… and for my aged (but young in spirit) father (on the left) to rest his weary legs …

Dad made a great effort but knew his limits and stopped just a couple hundred meters short of the summit, about where the trail became relatively steep. Uncle Robert and I scrambled up to the summit and I enjoyed the first summit cheeseburger in Scotland.

Somewhere there’s a picture of me and this cheeseburger… but of course that’s on someone else’s camera!

We picked up my rested father on the way down and my uncle Robert grumbled that I didn’t even offer him a bite of my cheeseburger, but I explained that though there are few rules of summit cheeseburgers, one of them is that the entire cheeseburger must be consumed by the same individual on the summit… sharing and partial cheeseburgers don’t count.

All grumbling was soon forgotten, for back at the trailhead we relaxed in the Scottish sun and enjoyed a couple of very fine pints together (every trailhead needs a pub!).


Krusty Bunz, KB’s Dad, and Uncle Robert.

Entry filed under: International Summits.

Park City Vertical – Boot Hill Calton Hill, Edinburgh, Scotland – 5/31/08

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Mission

To encourage, enable, and document the consumption of a Cheeseburger on every summit on earth.
June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blog Stats

  • 80,816 hits

