I got the Blues again…

May 19, 2008 at 8:20 am 3 comments

How much fun can I cram into one beautiful Spring day? Well… today, May 17th 2008, started with about 6 hours of volunteer work at a Habitat for Humanity build site, then I was off for a spin on my motorcycle to one of my favorite little scenic roads in the Blue Hills Reservation, where I met up with a friend for a hike, and for dinner enjoyed not one, but three summit cheeseburgers!

First… introductions: Peg has been itching to join me for a summit cheeseburger for the past month, so we met up at a trailhead in the Blue Hills (where you may recall this multi-cheeseburger feat). She brought her dog, Ilse (ELL-sah, but I prefer to refer to things that small as “it”), and at various points during the hike she had to carry the dog up and down steep parts of the trail. Whenever I see someone carrying around a small dog, the image of Paris Hilton comes to mind… Hilton… Stilton… Blue Hills… Blue Stilton!… Paris Stilton!! … and that’s why Peg will now be known as Paris Stilton! ๐Ÿ™‚

We set of on a short hike up the Skyline Trail to the summit of Buck Hill where Paris Stilton and I each enjoyed a BK Jr. summit cheeseburger and a nice view of the Boston skyline. (I paid for bacon, but I couldn’t find any on any of the cheeseburgers I ate.)

From there we backtracked to our vehicles, collected another two cheeseburgers from our stash and followed the trail in the opposite direction. Paris Stilton announced that she was full and that I would have to eat both the remaining cheeseburgers. “At least there are only two left” was what I was thinking. We got to Kitchamakin Hill where I ate summit cheeseburger #2 and then turned back towards the start.

The trail up had taken us near the summit of Fenno Hill (which apparently is so insignifant that it just gets a passing mention as Fenno Peak on the topo map but doesn’t merit its own listing anywhere), so on the way back we bushwacked our way to what appeared to be the summit and I shoved cheeseburger #3 into my mouth.

The trip back down presented us with this nice view of the Blue Hills…

… and so concludes a beautiful Spring day.

Totals: 3 Summits, 4 Cheeseburgers, 1 new hiker, and 1new dog for which there is no cheeseburger small enough for it to consume in its entirety, so all it got today were a few dropped onions and a lot of exercise (relative to its size… for us it wasn’t much hiking actually).

Coming soon… a summit cheeseburger from Scotland!

Krusty Bunz (18 and planning more) and Paris Stilton (1)

Entry filed under: Massachusetts Summits.

Ko Phi Phi Viewpoint – Thailand; April 27, 2008 Honey, I Shrunk the Cheeseburgers!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. summitcheese  |  May 19, 2008 at 12:59 pm

    KrustyBunz,

    You must really like those Cheeseburgers since you’re always eating 3-5 on a trip. Man, that’s gotta hurt. Glad to see that you’re kicking off the spring/summer hiking season with a triple bagger – I’m inspired to go out and enjoy a Cheeseburger soon.

    sirloinofbeef

    Reply
  • 2. Big Mike aka Groovy Dad  |  June 8, 2008 at 7:47 pm

    Krusty,

    Yes, I am now a New Englander living in Grahtham NHvia Boston via Washington state via sirloinoBeef hiking partner in Salt Lake city.

    I am up for hike for sure!! I am sure we can fit in a few this summer.

    Just ate a cheeseburger today on Gile Mtn in Vermont…it was nearly 95F and 100% humidity.

    Cheers,

    Formerly known as Big Mike
    AKA Groovey Dad

    Reply
  • 3. Dukedom  |  June 18, 2008 at 7:09 pm

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation ๐Ÿ™‚ Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Dukedom.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Mission

To encourage, enable, and document the consumption of a Cheeseburger on every summit on earth.
May 2008
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 81,226 hits

