What A Summit

January 28, 2008 at 5:54 pm 1 comment

A business trip took me to McAllen Texas last week. Before going, I did a little research and learned that McAllen is in Hidalgo county and that according to TopoZone, Hidalgo county has all of two summits, both a whopping 82 feet in elevation. My experience with the summits around Boston will definitely come in handy in this part of Texas!

Upon arrival in McAllen, I set out to find my hotel and a fine purveyor of Cheeseburgers. I saw a place called WHATABURGER … then saw about 10 more in about 10 minutes and decided it was fate. The next day after work I would visit WHATABURGER and conquer Sunrise Hill in Hidalgo county, Texas.

Sunrise Hill is about 25 miles from my hotel in McAllen and about half way there I picked up a Bacon & Cheese Whatameal at the drive through.

About 15 minutes or so later I arrived at Sunrise Park and read the sign “Park closes at 7pm”. Current time: 7:10pm. Onward! I parked inside the gate and looked at the mountain ahead of me. Now, if the summit elevation is 82 feet as indicated, the land around Sunrise Hill must be 40-50 feet above sea level. Fortunately, I ate the fries while I was driving so I had enough energy to make the ascent. The view from the top was… let’s just say it left me speechless.

The cheeseburger was very good, but I decided not to wait the 12 hours or so to see how nice the sunrise would be.

KrustyBunz – 15 cheeseburgers in 5 states and 2 countries

Entry filed under: Texas Summits.

Colorado two-fer New Lists of Summits

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Mission

To encourage, enable, and document the consumption of a Cheeseburger on every summit on earth.
January 2008
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 81,119 hits

