I left my Cheeseburger Summit in San Francisco

January 12, 2008 at 9:08 am 3 comments

I may not have been conquering the highest peaks as of late, but I have been fortunate to claim a few of the more famous ones and expand the Summit Cheeseburger boarders. During my most recent travels, I was sitting in my hotel, glanced down at the complementary map of San Francisco provided by the hotel and immediately realized that crest one of the most famous hills in world was within 6 blocks – straight up California Avenue which was just out side my front door (Currently the Omni Hotel) — Nob Hill, of course, This HAD to be done; and, in the end, it was. As it turned out, it was one of the steepest hikes I had done it quite some time. Thank god I was virtually AT sea level. I needed the the richer air. It was only 6, may 8 blocks, but it was straight up the sorts of roads that have made San francisco famous. In fact, it was straight up on one of the main cable car routes – an icon of San Fran (see pictures). I was accompanied by typical San Fran winter weather – overcast and a light drizzle. I swear the weather worsened as approached the summit, but my impressions may be distorted by my fatigue. My formal business attire, including a tie and dress shoes, did not add in a pleasurable sort of way to the experience, but felt oddly appropriate. I passed several notable landmarks – China Town, The Ritz Carlton, the Intercontinental, the Masonic Temple (who ARE those guys and WHAT is it they think anyway?) and the Grace Cathedral – beautiful, I peeked inside. At the summit, I enjoyed a $1 double cheeseburger from MacDonalds. It was actually quite pleasent; it was still warm, I purchased it a one block into the hike.I claim the first Summit done wearing a Tie! I have left the the novelty of the cable car for those to follow. Nob Hill – Patrick

Entry filed under: California Summits.

A New Year’s Resolution on City Creek Peak Colorado two-fer

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. summitcheese  |  January 12, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    Great work. Was the tie made out of Gore-Tex? Did you drill holes in it to make it lighter?

    sirloinofbeef

    Reply
  • 2. Ron of Parma  |  January 16, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    Is Nob Hill truly a summit? I would like the executive review board of SummitCheese to review the legitimacy of this post.

    Reply
  • 3. summitcheese  |  January 17, 2008 at 9:41 am

    The executive review board has evaluated your protest. The SC rules state quite clearly that the peak/summit must be named on a commercially available map. This is certainly the case for Nob Hill. The post is ruled legitimate. If you still disagree, take it up with your congressman – who might be eating a Summit Cheeseburger on Capitol Hill.

    SCERB

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Mission

To encourage, enable, and document the consumption of a Cheeseburger on every summit on earth.

Photos

Salvation Knoll Burgers

Salvation Knoll Sign

More Photos
January 2008
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 80,624 hits

