A Bag of Cheeseburgers for Peak Bagging in the Blue Hills (11/30/07)

December 2, 2007 at 3:30 pm 3 comments

The Blue Hills Reservation in Milton, MA is an great destination for an outdoor enthusiast to enjoy a beautiful view of Boston… and a cheeseburger. Or several cheeseburgers. Okay, l’ll be honest: I saw SamIAm’s recent post and feared that he may be out to prove that he loves cheeseburgers more than I do, so I took advantage of the fact that I have (a) a day off, (b) a mere 35 minute drive to the Blue Hills, (c) a bag of cheeseburgers, and (d) a loop trail that can’t be 3 miles long with 5 named peaks on it. My only concern… can I stomach 5 cheeseburgers in such a short period of time?

From the parking lot by the Reservation Headquarters, I took the north fork of the Skyline Trail up Hancock Hill (500′) for my first Burger King Whopper Jr. with Cheese. The best views from this summit are to the east , looking towards more of the Blue Hills that will need to be visited another day. Today, I’m headed west.

An easy stroll slightly down and then up again and I was on Hemenway Hill (470′) for cheeseburger #2. I’m pretty sure I didn’t have time to burn off that first cheeseburger, but since I started hiking at noon and was very hungry, I was looking forward to this second one. A slightly longer walk than the first two trail segments got me to #3 on Wolcott Hill. I had to bushwhack off trail a bit to get to this summit, but was rewarded with a Red Tail Hawk siting while I sat munching on my cheeseburger. The trail then dipped down to another valley then back up a steep (relatively, but not really) trail to Great Blue Hill (635′) which offers a fine view of Boston from the old stone observation tower.

I turned back on the south fork of the loop trail for the hike back to the car, which takes me over Houghton Hill (420′) for my final cheeseburger of the day. I was really wishing we had White Castle or some other source of mini-burgers in this area, but I managed to stuff the 5th cheeseburger in my face and wandered down the trail back to my car.

It took less than two hours to complete the loop, and I may not need to eat again today. Or tomorrow. The excursion cost me $145.88 … $6.30 for the cheeseburgers and $139.58 for a new tire after getting a flat on the drive home. 😦

KrustyBunz: +5 to bring the total to 12 cheeseburger summits!

Entry filed under: Massachusetts Summits.

Peach Mountain, OH – Driving in the Creek! Oldest (in Dog Years) SummitCheese Hiker

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Wimpy  |  December 3, 2007 at 12:21 pm

    excellent achievement. Your gastronomical fortitude is impressive. Whan I ate 4 cheeseburgers, I almost barfed on the 4th. Spawning much discussion with FlyingElvis
    ‘does it still count if you summit, eat your burger and then barf it back up’?

    BTW our conclusion was ‘Yes if you are physically off the actual summit when you throw up’.

    Cheers,

    Wimpy

    Reply
  • […] All around a fantastic trip with great food and fantastic hiking.  Kudos to KrustyBunz for his 5 Cheeseburger day.  I only know realize what a gastronomic feat that […]

    Reply
  • 3. I got the Blues again… « Summit Cheeseburger  |  May 19, 2008 at 8:20 am

    […] for the past month, so we met up at a trailhead in the Blue Hills (where you may recall this multi-cheeseburger feat). She brought her dog, Ilse (ELL-sah, but I prefer to refer to things that small as […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Mission

To encourage, enable, and document the consumption of a Cheeseburger on every summit on earth.

Photos

Salvation Knoll Burgers

Salvation Knoll Sign

More Photos
December 2007
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 80,626 hits

