Planes, Trains and Automobiles … and the Waseberg Falls!

November 13, 2007 at 2:59 pm 1 comment

The assault began at 4:00am, Saturday Nov 10th – an alpine start. After a couple cups of coffee and catching up on the recent New England Patriots news on the internet, I grabbed my gear and headed out.

Interestingly enough this climb began and ended in a cab. First stop, SL International, gate D9, Delta Fight 118 to Charles De Gaulle, via John F Kennedy in New York City. Arriving in Paris at 9am the morning of Sunday Nov 11, I replenished myself with the second best cup of coffee I have ever had. With the unfavorable exchange it rate it was $6! It was good, but not as good as a cup from Joe’s Coffee House in NY around the corner from Forbes Building on 60th (I will with have to check that).  Another short flight later on Air France and I had arrived at Base camp – the Grand Elysee Hotel in Hamburg Germany. One of the nicest base camps I have found anywhere in the world, of course I have never been to Japan, and I have not had a chance to sample either German or Japanese bananas foster. I am doubtful that either German version will stand up to the world famous Japanese forms.

I changed into my high altitude gear; lightened my load, dropped some supplies, grabbed my daypack and maps (see pictures) for the final push. The train station, Dammtor, was less than a km from the camp. Fortunately the station was equipped to supply any and all cheeseburger summiteers – there was a MacDonald’s below the platform.

With a Cheeseburger Royale in hand I made my way to the platform. Of course, it took me about 10 minutes of asking random strangers for help. After I finally gained the help of a local who could speak English, I managed to purchase my all-day train pass – 5.10 euros, and board the first of two trains. Had I made the assault on ANY day other than Sunday, I would have been able to take the S1 all the way to Blankenese. Unfortunately, it was Sunday, which required that I take the S31 to Altona and switch to the S1 bound for Blankenese.

Upon arrival at the Blankensee township (?), I deboarded and sought my transit to the summit – a cab. Fortunately, one was in wait; and fortunately, the drive spoke English well, and was able to decipher my poor pronunciation of Waseberg. After a minute or two and with a puzzled look on his face the drived wisked me away for the final push. It was a short drive from the station, and if I would have had more time, I would have walked, but then again, I would not have been able to claim the first summit conquered, in one climb, using three forms of mechanized transit!

The road ended near, but not at the peak of the hill. I asked the driver to wait. I detect a conflicted response .. he seemed unsure about his safety – it really was not clear to him how crazy I really was. I think he was concerned for me, but also concerned for himself. Despite his obvious reservations, and because I did not offer to pay him his fare until we got back to the train station, he reluctantly agreed to wait.

I was off on the final dash, literally to the top – Backpack in hand, meter running, cheeseburger rapidly getting colder and colder. Fortunately, it was only 0.5 km to the top, maybe another 60 ft in vertical. I made it! At the top, while running, I snapped a couple pictures and began chewing. Fortunately, I had refrained from drinking my Coke (no ice) until I reached the summit – cause I needed to flush (and I mean flush) down the burger as quickly as I could. I was feeling rough before I started my run down the hill and back to the cab. I was feeling and looking real rough when I arrived. The driver became instantly more concerned…… had I just committed a crime, why had I been running, why I did I look like I was going to hurl?…he had better not hurl in my car. He suggested the possibility that I was a having a heart attack, I tried to assure him (and myself) that that was not the case.

Back to Blankenese, Altona, Dammtor and ultimately the Grand Elysee. – the climb was complete and Summit Cheese had its first peak in Germany. It was a long haul (17 hours, more than 6000 miles, and total elevation gain of more than 100,000 feet), but it was well worth the effort. I had earned my rapidly ensuing nap!

Cheeseburger Royale – Waseberg, Germany – Flying Elvis.

Entry filed under: International Summits.

looking for Meridian, but finding T1N Peak 11/10/2007 Mt. Monadnock, Jaffrey, NH (11/18/07)

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. summitcheese  |  November 13, 2007 at 4:53 pm

    FryingElvis,

    You must be jet lagged – going on and on about bananas foster.

    sirloinofbeef

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Mission

To encourage, enable, and document the consumption of a Cheeseburger on every summit on earth.

Photos

Salvation Knoll Burgers

Salvation Knoll Sign

More Photos
November 2007
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 80,624 hits

