Maybe the third time will be the charm?

September 3, 2007 at 7:12 am Leave a comment

So I’m pleased to announce the induction (soon I hope) of another fellow summiteer, Chris Jones (witty trailhandle to come–may I suggest Indi–as in Indian Jones–as in “You call him Dr. Jones, doll”?). Anyhow, CJ and I set out from lab last Friday (August 24th) to scale Wire Mountain (I know, a repeat for myself). However I figured it’s near the lab, it would be easy to bag, and we could be back at work by 11. So, I’ll remind all of you that my last ascent was particularly ill conceived (a theme, I’m afraid to say), with a hasty retreat down the spine of the mountain having to be undertaken in the dark, but that beat going back into the forest with whatever was stalking me. Thus, we set out, and as Chris said “Thanks to the excellent navigation skills of John Muir over here…..” we ended up scaling Red Butte Mountain to the left of Wire in an attempt to see where we went wrong! Of course we didn’t actually know it was a proper summit or we would have bagged it with a burger (I was prepared with four patties). Instead we walked the spine and finally bagged Wire, at which point I offered Chris his very first summit cheese burger, a fine ground lamb concoction if I do say so. To his credit he overcame his initial skepticism and thoroughly enjoyed the burger. Another summit, another burger. Sorry no photos, camera batteries were dead (pretty much an overall Charlie Foxtrot on my part).

The Summit: Mount Wire / Big Beacon, UT, August 24th, 2007
The Burger: Lamb
The Cheese: Dubliner
The Bun: Wheat

cougarbait

Entry filed under: Utah Summits.

Cedar Point – the second ascent Two in Pennsylvania!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Mission

To encourage, enable, and document the consumption of a Cheeseburger on every summit on earth.
September 2007
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Blog Stats

  • 81,120 hits

