More on Gildersleeve Mountain

July 16, 2007 at 10:17 pm 2 comments

The first Cheeseburger summit in the Eastern US was accomplished by glacial23 and was reported in a previous SummitCheese post. You can read his original post on his LiVEJOURNAL account. He’s allowed us to republish it here:

Earlier this week, I was seized with the need for adventure. Not too much adventure (i.e. driving to Labrador, which I still want to do), but enough that it would be something unusual and not cost a lot of money.

I decided that climbing a mountain (inasmuch as Ohio has mountains – the highest point in the state is a mere 1539 feet (Campbell Hill in Bellefontaine)) would be kind of fun. But what mountain? A Google search of “mountains near cleveland” eventually turned up this place, which seemed like a good, easy plan. While looking at other options, I came across this list, which was ended up being less interesting for the peaks, and more interesting for the site’s mission:

“To encourage, enable, and document the consumption of a Cheeseburger on every summit on earth.”

Now that’s the kind of mission I can get behind.

So, armed with a cheeseburger, my digital camera, and my newish hiking boots, I headed out to the Chapin Forest Reservation and hit the Lucky Stone Loop trail, which is actually part of the statewide Buckeye Trail. I hiked my way up to what was the highest point I could find (the not terribly scenic “scenic overlook”), and had my cheeseburger. Mission accomplished. I then made my way around the rest of the loop – there’s a much better overlook further down, where you can actually see downtown Cleveland. All in all, the whole hike took me roughly an hour (I’m pretty sure I did the full loop, as I passed the intersection with the Ruffed Grouse trail, which is the southernmost end of the Lucky Stone Loop, and I didn’t take any of the links), and pictures will eventually be forthcoming.

As far as the other 1000+ foot Lake County peaks(see the link to the list above), The Knob seems to be on private property, Little Mountain is part of Holden Arboretum and you can’t go to the summit without a guided tour, and Pierson’s Knob is definitely on private property – I swung by since it was close, and there is a sign stating (more or less) “Private Property, we have a 1/2 mile driveway that ends in a gate and has no turnaround. Stay the hell out” (ok, I made up that last part but the rest is pretty accurate).

So, that’s how my day went.

Photos from Gildersleeve are shown below. More recently, glacial23 produced a Google Mashup of the USGS summits in each of the US states. It’s a great way to look for new Cheeseburger summits in your home state – just change the “st=oh” at the end of the URL to view your desired state. Thanks! He talks about it in a LiVEJOURNAL post.

Gildersleeve 4 Gildersleeve 3 Gildersleeve 1 Gildersleeve 2

Entry filed under: Ohio Summits.

Davenport Hill – The Second Time’s Not a Charm Montana Warning: Killer Marmots!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. glacial23  |  July 17, 2007 at 7:07 am

    I’ve actually improved the Maps application a bit – There’s a front page where you can choose the state here.

    I’m also working on an interactive map of all the completed summits as well, but it’s not quite ready yet.

    Reply
  • 2. Nash Hill Near Kent, Ohio « Summit Cheeseburger  |  July 27, 2007 at 8:07 pm

    […] to Ohio. A few weeks ago glacial23 (Sam) summited Gildersleeve Mountain in Ohio and sent in a post. Last weekend another Ohio peak was summited – by a new hiker, aspasia93. Welcome! She posted a […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Mission

To encourage, enable, and document the consumption of a Cheeseburger on every summit on earth.
July 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 80,927 hits

